Jade Kolleg

For prospective international students with university entrance qualification

Welcome to the Jade Kolleg in Wilhelmshaven!

Jade Kolleg offers a study preparation programme for prospective foreign students who do not yet meet the language requirements to take up their studies. After successful completion, the students can begin their respective studies at the Jade University of Applied Sciences.

Jade Kolleg – about

Jade Kolleg aims at paving the way for participants to a successful course of studies at Jade University of Applied Sciences.

Jade Kolleg is a programme offered to foreign university applicants in order to prepare them to take up their studies at a German university. As part of this one-year programme participants will be offered a curriculum that includes linguistic, technical, methodological and intercultural learning content.

Through cooperation with the regional employers' and business association, participants will be supported in their quest to find internship positions and fulfil their pre-study internship requirement.

Target Group

Jade Kolleg targets prospective foreign students with a direct university entrance qualification (this can be pre-checked on the information portal on foreign educational qualifications, anabin), who have not yet reached the required level of proficiency in the German language and who want to take up their studies in one of the following courses:

  • Electrical Engineering (BA and MA)
  • Computer Science for Engineering (MA)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BA and MA)
  • Mechatronics (BA)
  • Medical Technology (BA)
  • Marine Technology (BA)
  • Technical Project Management (BA)
  • Business Computing (BA)
  • Engineering and Management (BA and MA)

Jade Kolleg intends to expand its scope beyond the above-mentioned courses in the coming years.

 

Zielgruppe Bild

Content

Over two terms participants are helped with the language and introduced to the scope of their specialized studies. The course curriculum comprises approximately 24 lectures per week. The focus is on acquiring a German certificate that is recognized for the course of study. Emphasis is further placed on the introduction to teaching and learning methods common to third-level German colleges. In concrete terms, students are familiarized with the structures of the Jade University of Applied Sciences, for example

  • by practicing the use of the university's web portals,
  • by preparing and giving presentations using modern media,
  • by practicing taking notes during lectures, analysis and composition of scientific texts as well as actual research,
  • by practicing cooperation in unsupervised work groups, etc.

Intercultural training and support through the buddy program facilitate the arrival of newcomers in Germany as well as the entry into the Jade University of Applied Sciences.

Inhalte Bild

Requirements

Besides having the motivation to tackle one of the above-mentioned study courses, applicants must fulfil the following requirements:

  • possess university entrance qualifications for a course of study in Germany,
  • show proof of having attained at least a B1 level in German,
  • be willing to regularly attend and actively take part in lessons (attendance is compulsory),
  • have sufficient resources to support themselves in Germany.

Application

Enrolment at Jade Kolleg is limited to 25 places per year. Applicants apply via uni-assist e. V., a service facility that checks certificates acquired abroad on behalf of German universities. Please apply directly for your aimed course of study at the Jade University via the web portal My assist. (Please find a step-by-step guide for the application via uni-assist in the downloads section.)

Once your credentials and university entrance qualifications have been verified, you can go ahead and apply for a place at Jade Kolleg. Submit an e-mail to the International Office with the following documents attached:

  • your verification report from uni-assist
  • a cover letter, written in German, stating your general intention (approx. 1-2 pages)
  • the signed declaration of commitment
  • proof of having attained at least B1 level of proficiency in German (if proof was not already submitted as part of the application via uni-assist)

After your application documents have been checked, you will be contacted as soon as possible and, if you are eligible, invited to a selection interview (see "Dates and deadlines"). Within two weeks after the interview, you will be informed whether you can be offered a place at the Jade Kolleg.

Bewerbung Foto

Admission and enrolment

If you are offered a place at Jade Kolleg and you accept the offer, you will be enrolled in your course of study immediately. Enrollment is then limited to the two terms of the study preparation programme. After successfully completing this programme, you must hand in the required German certificate at the enrolment and examination office and register for the winter 2022/23 term. Whereupon you will be free to follow your desired course of study.

Zulassung und Immatrikulation Bild

Dates and deadlines

You can already apply for the winter 2021/22 term. In fact, we recommend applying as soon as possible, as the course starts in September and places are limited. Below you can find an overview of the timeline with the most important deadlines and dates:

  • application period: 1.4.2021 - 15.8.2021
  • beginning and end dates of course: 20.9.2021 - 31.8.2022
  • selection interviews (online): 28th of May, 11th of June, 25th of June, 9th of July, 23rd of July, 6th of August, 20th of August

Note: The date of your interview is dependent on the time of submission of your application.

Termine und Fristen Bild

Costs

Regular semester fees apply to the study preparation programme. The semester fees include a student pass that can be used for local public transport as well as for regional trains in the state of Lower Saxony.
Participants have to pay for their own living expenses.
Furthermore uni-assist charges a fee for processing your application.

Kosten Bild

Contact us

Do you have more questions regarding Jade Kolleg? If so, feel free to contact us! We are glad to help you on your way to the Jade University of Applied Sciences!

Kontakt Bild

 

 

Jade Kolleg is funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Deutsch Akademischer Austauschdienst
Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Jade Kolleg

Für internationale Studieninteressierte mit Hochschulzugangsberechtigung

Herzlich willkommen am Jade Kolleg in Wilhelmshaven!

Mit dem Jade Kolleg wird ein Studienvorbereitungsprogramm für ausländische Studieninteressierte angeboten, die die sprachlichen Voraussetzungen für die Aufnahme des Studiums noch nicht erfüllen. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss können die Kollegiat_innen ihr fachspezifisches Studium an der Jade Hochschule beginnen.

Jade Kolleg – Was ist das?

Ziel des Jade Kollegs ist es, den Teilnehmer_innen ein erfolgreiches und zügiges Studium an der Jade Hochschule zu ermöglichen.

Das Jade Kolleg ist ein Programm, das speziell für ausländische Studienbewerber_innen angeboten wird, um sie auf das Studium an einer deutschen Hochschule vorzubereiten.

Im Rahmen des einjährigen Programms wird den Kollegiat_innen ein Curriculum mit sprachlichen, fachlichen, methodischen und interkulturellen Lerninhalten angeboten. In Kooperation mit dem Arbeitgeber- und Wirtschaftsverband der Region werden die Teilnehmer_innen zudem bei der Suche nach einem Praktikumsplatz unterstützt, um ihr Vorpraktikum absolvieren zu können.

Zielgruppe

Das Jade Kolleg richtet sich an ausländische Studieninteressierte mit einer direkten Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (überprüft werden kann dies auf dem Infoportal zu ausländischen Bildungsabschlüssen anabin), die die erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse noch nicht vorweisen können und die ihr Studium in einem der folgenden Studiengänge aufnehmen möchten:

  • Elektrotechnik (BA und MA)
  • Ingenieurinformatik (MA)
  • Maschinenbau (BA und MA)
  • Mechatronik (BA)
  • Medizintechnik (BA)
  • Meerestechnik (BA)
  • Technisches Projektmanagement (BA)
  • Wirtschaftsinformatik (BA)
  • Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (BA und MA)

Perspektivisch soll der Zugang zum Jade Kolleg für weitere Studiengänge der Jade Hochschule geöffnet werden.

Zielgruppe Bild

Inhalte

Die Teilnehmer_innen werden in zwei Semestern sprachlich und inhaltlich auf das Fachstudium vorbereitet. Das Kurscurriculum umfasst ca. 24 Unterrichtsstunden pro Woche. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf dem Erwerb eines für das Studium anerkannten Deutschzertifikats. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Einführung in die Lehr- und Lernmethodik des Studiums in Deutschland. Konkret werden die Kollegiat_innen dabei mit den Strukturen der Jade Hochschule vertraut gemacht. Beispielsweise werden

  • die Nutzung der Online-Portale der Hochschule geübt
  • Referate und Präsentationen unter Einsatz moderner Medien erarbeitet und gehalten
  • Mitschriften in Vorlesungen, wissenschaftliche Texterschließung und –produktion sowie Recherchen geübt
  • die eigenständige Zusammenarbeit in Gruppen trainiert, etc.

Mithilfe interkultureller Trainings und mit Unterstützung durch das Buddyprogramm wird zudem das Ankommen in Deutschland und an der Jade Hochschule erleichtert.

Inhalte Bild

Voraussetzungen

Neben der Motivation in einem der oben genannten Studiengänge durchzustarten müssen die Bewerber_innen folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • direkte Hochschulzugangsberechtigung für ein Studium in Deutschland
  • mind. abgeschlossenes B1 Niveau in Deutsch
  • Bereitschaft zur regelmäßigen und aktiven Teilnahme am Unterricht (Anwesenheitspflicht)
  • ausreichende Mittel für den Lebensunterhalt in Deutschland

Bewerbung

Die Aufnahmekapazität des Jade Kollegs ist auf 25 Plätze pro Jahr limitiert. Die Bewerbung erfolgt über uni-assist e. V., eine Serviceeinrichtung, die im Auftrag deutscher Hochschulen im Ausland erworbene Zeugnisse prüft. Sie bewerben sich über das Portal My assist direkt für Ihren Wunschstudiengang an der Jade Hochschule. (Detaillierte Informationen zum Bewerbungsprozess über uni-assist finden Sie auf unserer Website).

Sobald Ihre Hochschulzugangsberechtigung positiv geprüft wurde, können Sie sich für einen Platz im Jade Kolleg bewerben. Hierfür reichen Sie bitte folgende Unterlagen per E-Mail beim International Office ein:

  • Prüfbericht von uni-assist
  • Motivationsschreiben in deutscher Sprache (ca. 1-2 Seiten)
  • Unterschriebene Selbstverpflichtungserklärung
  • Ggf. Nachweis über ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse mind. auf B1 Niveau (sofern dieser nicht bereits bei der Bewerbung über uni-assist eingereicht wurde)

Nach erfolgter Prüfung Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen werden Sie zeitnah kontaktiert und ggf. zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen (siehe hierzu „Termine und Fristen“). Innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach dem Gespräch werden Sie darüber informiert, ob Ihnen ein Platz im Jade Kolleg angeboten werden kann.

Bewerbung Foto

Zulassung und Immatrikulation

Wenn Ihnen ein Platz im Jade Kolleg angeboten werden kann und Sie diesen annehmen, erfolgt eine Einschreibung direkt in Ihren Studiengang. Die Immatrikulation ist zunächst bis zum Ende des Studienvorbereitungskurses auf zwei Semester befristet. Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Studienvorbereitungsprogramms müssen Sie den notwendigen Deutschnachweis fristgerecht beim Immatrikulations- und Prüfungsamt einreichen und sich zum Wintersemester 2022/23 rückmelden. Anschließend studieren Sie übergangslos und unbefristet in Ihrem Studiengang weiter.

Zulassung und Immatrikulation Bild

Termine und Fristen

Die Bewerbung für den Start im Wintersemester 2021/22 ist ab sofort möglich. Da der Kurs bereits im September startet und die Plätze limitiert sind, ist eine möglichst frühzeitige Bewerbung empfehlenswert. Im Folgenden finden Sie die wichtigsten Fristen und Termine im Überblick:

  • Bewerbungszeitraum: 1.4.2021 - 15.8.2021
  • Kurszeitraum: 20.9.2021 - 31.8.2022
  • Auswahlgespräche (online):
    28. Mai, 11. Juni, 25. Juni, 9. Juli, 23. Juli, 6. August, 20. August

Hinweis: Je nach Zeitpunkt des Bewerbungseingangs werden Sie zu einem der oben genannten Daten zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen.

Termine und Fristen Bild

Kosten

Für das Studienvorbereitungsprogramm fallen die regulären Semesterbeiträge an. In diesen ist das Semesterticket enthalten, das u.a. die Nutzung des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs sowie der regionalen Zugverbindungen im Land Niedersachsen ermöglicht. Die Lebenshaltungskosten sind von den Teilnehmer_innen selbst zu tragen. Zudem fällt eine Bearbeitungsgebühr für die Bewerbung bei uni-assist an.

Kosten Bild

Kontakt

Haben Sie Fragen zum Jade Kolleg? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns gerne! Wir freuen uns, Sie auf Ihrem Weg an die Jade Hochschule zu unterstützen!

Kontakt Bild

 

 

Finanziert wird das Jade Kolleg durch den Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) und dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Deutsch Akademischer Austauschdienst
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung